About to the SOT

In line with its original inspiration, Tangaza School of Theology intends to prepare Church ministers and missionaries well founded theologically, able to face the challenges of an ever pluralistic and changing world both in Africa and elsewhere.


Its goal is to conjugate a solid academic foundation with a dynamic pastoral and missionary orientation, sensitive to the interpretation of the signs of the time and inculturation. The School is also concerned with providing a sound theological background to those who will proceed for further theological studies.

Bold History that Fuels the Future

The School of Theology (SOT) is the largest and oldest institute in Tangaza College. It had a humble beginning in 1986 with 20 students who came from seven countries and from three religious congregations, namely Consolata Fathers, Holy Ghost Fathers and Salesians. When the first students in the SOT had completed the prescribed three and a half year study course in 1990, the degree of Baccalaureate in Sacred Theology (STB) was granted by the Urbanian University in Rome.From 1989 to 1997 SOT was affiliated to this Pontifical University through the Apostles of Jesus Scholasticate, Langata. On 5 September 1997 the SOT was granted a direct affiliation ad quinquennium to the Pontifical Urbanian University. This expired in 2002. On 5th December 2000 the SOT applied for affiliation to the Pontifical Faculty of Theology of C.U.E.A. in Nairobi. The convention of affiliation was signed on 9th July 2003 and expired after 4 years. In 2007 the affiliation was renewed.

New developments were, however, in the pipeline. In February 2010 the SOT entered into a Memorandum of Understanding with Duquesne University in Pittsburgh U.S.A. enabling the SOT to offer Masters programs in Theology and in Pastoral Ministry, accredited by Duquesne University. In February 2012 the SOT handed in to the Pontifical Urbanian University an official application with full documentation for aggregation in theology. With an aggregation to this University SOT will be authorized to grant a Licentiate degree in Theology of two years. What is more, an STB of three years will then be possible. So the future programs structure of the SOT will be as follows: A program of three years for the pontifical STB degree or the civil Bachelor of Arts in Theology degree. After these three years a student can take the pontifical Licentiate in Theology degree of two years. Either the Master of Arts in Theology program of one year from Duquesne University or the Master in Pastoral Theology program of one year from the same university. Moreover there will be a Pastoral Program of one year for students who do not want to take one of the above mentioned programs, but are obliged by canon law to complete their theological studies with a fourth pastoral year. The development of these programs augurs well for the SOT. A proper structure for the different degree programs has been established on which a future development of a doctorate program can be based.

The School of Theology now has a population of about 450 students coming from approximately 50 Religious Orders, Congregations, and Societies and from many countries of Africa and the world at large.

Religious Orders

The following Religious Orders are registered as corporate members of the Tangaza College Consortium:

  • Augustinians, O.S.A.
  • Benedictines, O.S.B.
  • Brothers of the Christian Schools, F.S.C.
  • Camillians, M.I.
  • Capuchin Franciscan Friars, O.F.M Cap.
  • Comboni Missionaries, M.C.C.J.
  • Congregation of the Marianhill Missionaries, C.M.M.
  • Consolata Missionaries, I.M.C.
  • Conventual Franciscan Friars, O.F.M. Conv.
  • Discalced Carmelite Friars, O.C.D.
  • Dominican Friars, O.P.
  • Franciscan Friars Minor, O.F.M.
  • Holy Cross Congregation, C.S.C.
  • Holy Ghost Fathers (Spiritans), C.S.Sp.
  • Missionaries of Africa, M.Afr.
  • Congregation of the Passion, C.P.
  • Rosminians, (Institute of Charity), I.C.
  • St. Patrick’s Missionary Society (Kiltegan Fathers), S.P.S.
  • Salesians of Don Bosco, S.D.B.
  • Society of African Missions, S.M.A.
  • Society of the Divine Word, S.V.D.
  • Vincentians (Congregation of the Mission), C.M.